Test_bit Function. Not Working?

I am more than willing to admit that it may not be working as I expect due to me not understanding how it is supposed to work. I am new to all of this (PICs and C).

#include <system.h>

volatile bit ra0@0x6.0;

volatile bit ra1@0x6.1;

unsigned int counter=0;

int aborted=0;

void main()

{

trisa=00000000b;

trisb=11111111b;

while ( 1 )

{

set_bit(porta,0); // Light the power LED.

if (ra0 == 1 )

{

set_bit(porta,1); // light the 'activated' LED.

for (counter=0;counter<5000;counter++) // 5000x1ms gives me about 5 seconds. Will want 60-120 when it's live.

{

if (ra1 == 1) // The Abort button was pressed.

{

clear_bit(porta,1); // Light the Aborted LED (only for debugging purposes).

delay_ms(5);

counter=5000; // This to get out of the 'active' loop right away.

}

delay_ms(1);

}

if (test_bit(porta,1)==1) // In theory this should be 1 if abort was not pressed.

{

set_bit(porta,2); // This will activate a relay. This is an LED now.

delay_s(1); // This is to let me see what is what.

}

}

}

}

After this didn't work for me, I had the 'abort' loop assign 'aborted=1'. I then had the final if statement check the value of 'aborted'. That didn't work out for me.

I finally resorted to having the 'abort' loop assign 'counter=5500'. I then had the final if statement check for 'counter==5000'. That did the trick so I now have a PIC that does exactly as I want it to do.

However, I would like to know what I did wrong in this first attempt. I'd really like to know how to use 'test_bit correctly for future projects.

I am currently using the free BoostC license, if that helps any.

Thanks!

You need to look at the test_bit macro:

#define test_bit( reg, bitNumb ) ((reg) & (1 << (bitNumb)))

This returns an 8-bit result.

The statement: if (test_bit(porta,1)==1) will never be true because test_bit(porta,1) expands to: ((porta)&(2))

When using the test_bit only test the result for ==0 or !=0.

Edited by cac001