Sign in to follow this  
winterhunter

Forcing A Long Jump At The Beginning Of The Progra

Hi,

I'm new to sourceboost (just bought a full licence for 6.6) and wanted to use the programs I'm writing with a bootloader, since my poor PIC's pins will not last much longer if I continue swapping it between my proto board and the programmer!

The problem I've been experiencing is that:

+ The bootloader that is on sourceboost's webpage needs hyperterminal, which I don't have (I'm running Vista). Besides, it does not support the A version of the 16F877 chip, and I I don't want to modify it to write groups of four instructions at once (I'm lazy, I know).

+ A bootloader that works nicely, and does not take much ROM can be found on the following website :

MicrochipC bootloader

However, it requires that the that the jump before the interrupt vector be a long jump (if possible also clearing the status field, just in case).

How can I force BoostC to do this? (Of course I could force the linker by rellocating my program to the second memory page with the -rb option, but that would be to just WASTE the first 2kwords of ROM).

Thanks for your answers!

winterhunter,

However, it requires that the that the jump before the interrupt vector be a long jump (if possible also clearing the status field, just in case).

Please clarify further. Maybe you can post some asm that shows what low memory has got in it.

Regards

Dave

Please clarify further. Maybe you can post some asm that shows what low memory has got in it.

Regards

Dave

Most bootloaders, because of the way they are designed, need that the first 4 instructions of any program that can be uploaded be :

Address Instruction

0000 clrf STATUS

0001 movlw 0x00 // these instructions can be

0002 movwf PCLATH //replaced by a clrf PCLATH

0003 goto start

0004 beginning of interrupt vector