Sign in to follow this  
DavidT

Interrupts - Possible Constraints

Hi. I have some questions about using interrupts please:

1. Is there any limit to how much code you can put in the interrupt function?

2. Interrupts have to be at address location 4. Does this limit how many functions/code size that can precede the interrupt function so I can call them from the interrupt?

3. Related to 2, how do I do function prototyping so I can call functions that are written 'after' the interrupt function?

I'm a novice at programming but do have have many simple programs working successfully and can make basic interrupts work. More complex ones are causing me some grief hence my questions.

Thanks, David.

Hi David

Hi. I have some questions about using interrupts please:

1. Is there any limit to how much code you can put in the interrupt function?

Yes. The actual limit is a function of interrupt frequency and clock speed - the processor must be able to excecute all the interrupt code (and exit the interrupt) before the next one occurs. In real life you never want to get anywhere near this limit and must strive to keep your interrupt code 'short and sweet'. How you achieve this is dependent on the nature of the project but have a look at NOVO - Sourceboost's real-time OS for an elegant solution.

2. Interrupts have to be at address location 4. Does this limit how many functions/code size that can precede the interrupt function so I can call them from the interrupt?

This is hardware-related. The idea of programming in C is to distance you from these hardware issues, though in the world of microcontrollers that distance is necessarily quite short! The Linker will sort it all out for you so the sequence of functions in the source code is immaterial and should be designed for ease of human consumption rather than for the hardware.

3. Related to 2, how do I do function prototyping so I can call functions that are written 'after' the interrupt function?

[\quote]