Sign in to follow this  
derekm

I2c_driver.h Modifications - Hardware Ack

derekm    0

Hi everone!

I'm new to PIC (or even micro) programming and Sourceboost, and I'm having a lot of fun. I've been messing around with i2c for about a week, and everything is going well.

I'm a little confused about why i2c_write doesn't return the ACKSTAT if the write was successful in HW mode, but it does in software mode.

Or better yet, instead of:

return (0); // successful exit

something like:

return (l_ackstat ? 2 : 0); /* 2 == no ack, 0 == success */

(with l_ackstat defined like the other l_* bits)

So we can detect a no-ack condition right within the i2c driver, instead of our "userland" code - which would have to depend on whether the chip is in HW, or SW mode.

I've checked the forums, and another poster had mentioned a similar fix, but I think I'd rather see the i2c_write function deal with this, as that would follow the Principle of Least Astonishment.

The template part of the API would need to change to add this extra bit, but the i2c_driver.h is incomplete without it. Heck, we could do a i2c_driver2.h, and insert a deprecated warning in i2c_driver.h so as not to affect existing code, if API changes are a problem.

Obviously the ack status is important, especially when using the ack-polling method.

Is there a mechanism for submitting patches to the "official" source tree? It's a quick fix, and I'd be glad to do the patches. (In addition, there doesn't seem to be any collision checking with the SW portion either).

I know I can make the changes to my local copy, but there is something to be said for support in future versions.

Any input on my suggestions?

Thanks!

derekm    0
The template part of the API would need to change to add this extra bit, but the i2c_driver.h is incomplete without it. Heck, we could do a i2c_driver2.h, and insert a deprecated warning in i2c_driver.h so as not to affect existing code, if API changes are a problem.