Sign in to follow this  
Onka

(noob)16f628a - Input Button Just Lowered To Gnd

Hi !

Im new to PIC programming and here goes my headache :

as topic says im trying to use PIC 16F628A to detect a push-button being pressed, which (when pressed) just lowers corresponding IC pin to ground without any pullup or pulldown resistors involved. This means that when button is not pressed, corresponding IC pin is "floating", not connected to anything.

Problem is - I get random activity even if i dont push the button - i dont actually have to touch it. I know that there is a way to read info properly since i have taken schematics from a real world example. Maybe there are some config bits i missed ?

Anyway here goes the code which is running fine if i use those pullup/pulldown resistors.

#include <system.h>

#pragma CLOCK_FREQ 4000000

#pragma DATA _CONFIG, _XT_OSC & _PWRTE_ON & _LVP_OFF & _MCLRE_OFF & _WDT_OFF &_CP_OFF & _BODEN_ON

void flash (int cnt) //function to flash a LED, cnt times

{

porta.1=0;

for (int k=0; k<cnt; k++)

{

porta.1=1;

delay_ms(200);

porta.1=0;

delay_ms(200);

}

}

void main()

{

cmcon = 7; // set analog comparators off

// output bit

trisa.1 = 0;

// input bits

trisa.5 = 1;

//trisb.3 = 1;

trisb.5 = 1;

while( 1 ) //endless loop

{

if (!porta.5) {flash(1);} // this is connected via pullup resistor to +5v all the time

if (!portb.5) {flash(2);} // this one is left just floating. if i comment this line out, i get proper response from porta.5 button presses

}

}

Without knowing your hardware design I am not sure if this will cause a problem or not but Port B has built in pull-up resistors. option_reg.RBPU = 0 will force the bits (pins) on port B high (logical 1) and then when the button is pressed the input will go low (logical 0). If that is not an option use 10K resistors to VDD on the pin with the button this will have the same effect.