I'm a real noob here, especially when it comes to the electronics side of things.

Is it really as easy as it seems to make a Voltmeter?

I'm interested in the state of charge of my 24V battery bank, so am only interested in a fairly small voltage range.

What I have done is gone here: http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/Bill_Bowden/r2.htm to work out which resistors I need to connect between the battery bank and the A/D input channel (23000 and 5000 @ .001 amps).

I am planning on using a 5V voltage regulator, also fed off the battery bank, to drive the PIC16F872 chip I happen to have and hence also provide the reference voltage.

I have written the code in boost C to compare the voltage I have 'made up' (5V off of up to 28V) and then lit one of a series of LED's based on the A/D comparison results.

I've not connected it all up to the battery bank, as I'm not near it, but have tested everything with a 5K variable resistor.

It all seems to work as expected. Hence the question, as I can't believe it can possibly be so straightforward.

Your math is good; the resistors you've chosen result in 5v when the battery bank is at 28v. Sometimes it IS that easy ;)

For bonus points, try coming up with a circuit that more closely monitors the range between charged and discharged battery voltage; say something that converts the range of 20 to 28 volts to be 0 to 5 volts.

For bonus points, try coming up with a circuit that more closely monitors the range between charged and discharged battery voltage; say something that converts the range of 20 to 28 volts to be 0 to 5 volts.
Hi Kenn

Thanks for that. When things just work I worry!

Would it not work to simply use additional A/D channels to measure successively lower voltages using progressively lower R1 resistances, 1900 for the next stage?

Obviously a wise person would not sample the lower ranges with a higher voltage.

Not that I care about anything less than 24V!

Ahh