Sign in to follow this  
carlosfandango

Noobie Boostc Question, Set_bit And Clear_bit

Dear All, I'm new to boostc and this forum, but I do have a lot of programming experience on microcontrollers / windows .NET etc. I did use PICs many years ago (actually I was surprised to discover my ten year old PIC16F84As were still current!).

I'm using a PICKIT 2 with a 'low pin count' microchip demo board (16F690 fitted) and the lite version of the boostc comiler / IDE with no major problems, all seems to be working smoothly.

As a first test I thought I'd have a go at a short PWM routine to make an LED fade up and down cyclically. I started off working with a single LED as supplied on the demo board to pin RC0, and wrote a short program using tmr0 interrupt. The interrupt sets a flag which is read by main() to determine a pulse width period. The period is increased / decreased at a sort of 'human' rate to be, well, 'pleasing' in some way. This works exactly as expected, so no problems there.

However I have run into a problem that I can't quite understand and I'm sure there's an easy answer that will be quite obvious... WHEN I know what it is, as usual!! In my main() routine, just before the PWM loop executes, I decided to turn on the LED on bit 1 of portc. As far as I can see, this should come on and stay on - but it doesn't. I tried numerous things subsequently to manipulate the port but it seems that using set_bit on bit 0 is affecting the state of bit 1. I looked at the inline code for set_bit and clear_bit but the code looks fine (no reason why it shouldn't). If I change the code to write numeric values to the port instead of setting individual bits, it does indeed work as expected - so I guess the PIC is in good shape.

Have I missed something in the config, or just something much simpler? Here's the code (I attached the c file too, as I don't know how to format code here yet - sorry):

#include <system.h>

#pragma OPTIMIZE "1" // Regular optimisation