soft2

Large Data Arrays, Bank Switching

I'm trying to re-use some code for a PIC18F device that is using a large array - 512 bytes. I'm evaluating the best options to solve this problem and would like some input. The code will compile and work OK using C18 compiler which allows you to use arrays > 256 bytes by changing the size of a memory section in the linker file and then using the #pragma udata directive. Does SourceBoost have a similar directive or some other way to achieve the same result? Here are some options I'm considering:

1) Re-write the code for 256 byte arrays. This would be a huge amount of work.

2) Move the whole project to Mchp C18. I already paid for SB Pro license and don't like C18 as much. Not to mention at least 60% of the code has already been written for SB.

3) The datasheet refers to "indirect addressing" FSR registers etc. It appears these can be used to manipulate large array pointers. Has anyone used this feature? I'm not experienced with assembler but combined with option 1 may be a good solution.

4) Move the whole project to another hardware platform and say goodbye to PIC and SB altogether.

I'm curious the real reasons that the PIC defaults to 256 byte memory bank size. It appears they are using 12 bit addresses on the PIC18 devices, so why this limitation? In the C18 forums many people have successfully used section sizes other than 256 bytes so why the limitation in the first place? I don't fully understand how the the BSR saves much overhead.

Does SB have methods to use the FSR registers, INDF operand and address pointer manipulation instructions? They can be used with POSTDEC, POSTINC, etc for linear pointer arithmetic beyond 256 bytes.

Thanks!

I'm idly curious as to why you need to manage such a large amount of data on a PIC.

What is it you are trying to achieve?