Sign in to follow this  
Thack

Mplab Or Sourceboost Ide

(Not sure if this is the right forum; please move it if you wish)

I am a complete newbie to SourceBoost products, although I've been programming PICs using MPLAB and the PICStart Plus for several years, now.

My requirements are that I want to be able to write my code in 'C', program a range of PICs, and experiment with in-circuit debugging (I've never done this before). I'll be using the PICkit2 for in-circuit programming, and the PICStart Plus for programming uninstalled PICs.

What benefits does the SourceBoost IDE have over MPLAB? In your experience, what are the strengths, weaknesses and unique features of both? Which would you recommend?

Obviously I'm trying to decide whether to migrate over to the SourceBoost IDE, or stick with MPLAB.

Any thoughts or reactions would be gratefully received.

Thanks,

Steve

Edited by Thack

MPLAB is incredibly powerful with more features than you can shake a stick at but is horribly unstable. Leave any of its windows docked when you save a workspace or exit and you are begging for a crash the next time you run it. It also crashes at random if you click in the wrong place in the wrong window at the wrong time. Some of its windows seem riskier than others. Worst of all, the crash often leaves the workspace corrupt so once you've found a layout that works, its worth making a backup of your project and workspace files.

Sourceboost IDE just works, rarely crashes and on the few occasions it has crashed on me, never smashed its project file. The simulator isn't quite as stable but with the plugins its much easier to use for most purposes than MPLAB SIM. I don't even program in Assembler in MPLAB any more.