Rs232 Receive From Hyperterminal --- Need Some Help

This is my first project dealing with serial communications of the PIC. I have not looked into the functions provided with Sourceboost, as I really want to understand more of the details.

I have my PIC16F913 connected to a MAX232 and to a 16x4 parallel LCD display. I do not care about sending data for now, this project purely receives data only.

This project is just for me to learn the UART. After I get this down I plan to use this on another project that I have going.

One problem that I have is the lack of an oscilloscope, so I cannot determine if my baud rate is 9600 like I have it programmed. I am using the internal oscillator for now.

I believe my problem exists in my interrupt handler when I try and buffer the data as it is coming in. If I only send one command from hyperterminal and I don't try to use my char array for the buffer, I can display the character perfect. Works every time. This makes me think that my hardware and baud are correct. The problem comes when I try and store the incoming data into my array and then read out of the array while writing to the LCD. I get the first 2 characters of my string to display correctly, but then the rest of the screen if filled with random junk. I initialize the array to all 0's so that is what I look for to end my print function.

Please check out the code below and tell me what you think.

#include <system.h>
#include "rx_test_initialize.h"
#include "rx_test_LCD.h"
#pragma CLOCK_FREQ 8000000;

void UART_Initialize(void);

#pragma DATA 0x2007, 0x30E4

unsigned char rx_buffer[33] = {0};
unsigned char *array_ptr;
unsigned char i = 0;
unsigned char error = 0;
unsigned char data_in, single_print;
bit message_received = 0;
bit STX_received = 0;
bit interrupt_flag = 0;

/*****************INTERRUPT HANDLER*****************
*******THIS INTERRUPT WILL STORE THE DATA FROM******
********THE UART RECEIVE BUFFER INTO AN ARRAY******/

void interrupt(void)
{