Sign in to follow this  
DanW

Help... Using Two Adc's As Touch Sensors (At Wits End)

I'm new to boostc and saw a pic article about using the ADC's as analog touch sensors.

http://ww1.microchip...otes/01298A.pdf

I've been trying for a couple of days without some success but both channels are getting detected with same value when either button is pressed.

Here's what I did:

adcon0 = 00000001b;				   // Turn on the A/D converter, select channel 0 .

delay_ms(20);
	   Go_Done=1;						  // Start conversion
	   while ( Go_Done == 1 )			  // Wait for conversion to complete -- better put a timeout in here some time.
	   {

}
		// Separate int's need to be used to keep the shifts from screwing up.
		shiftH = ad_h;
		shiftL = ad_l;

AD_Result2 = (shiftH<<2) | (shiftL>>6);  // Combine the two registers to get full 10 bits.

adcon0 = 00000101b;				   // Turn on the A/D converter, select channel 1 .
	   delay_ms(20);
	   Go_Done=1;						  // Start conversion
	   while ( Go_Done == 1 )			  // Wait for conversion to complete -- better put a timeout in here some time.
	   {

}
		// Separate int's need to be used to keep the shifts from screwing up.
		shiftH = ad_h;
		shiftL = ad_l;

AD_Result3 = (shiftH<<2) | (shiftL>>6);  // Combine the two registers to get full 10 bits.
		if (AD_Result2 > 500 || AD_Result3 > 500)
		{
			   //code to output both values goes here
		}

The problem I see is when I hit button 1, both AN0 and AN1 register as input.

The microchip doc says I need to set a dummy AN port to VDD and then GND.

Has anyone ever done this?

Thanks

Dan.

Edited by Pavel
applied CODE tags

Dan,

I haven't tried this myself but without your full code, the part you are using, clock frequency etc. it is difficult to debug. However, I can see some basic problems.