Sign in to follow this  
kuyars

Where Is String.h?

Hi, I'm not that new to C programming, however, in all the IDEs I've used before, I've always freely included headers such as string.h, math.h, etc. I tried finding any instance of string.h (which I'd like to use for my program), but notice that there is no such file included with the installation. How can I use string.h with SourceBoost? Thanks in advance!

... in all the IDEs I've used before, I've always freely included headers such as string.h, math.h, etc...

For which platforms (processors) did you compile code "in all the IDEs you've used before"?

Regards,

Pavel

well, I'm a student so all the environments have already been setup for us. VisualDSP++ for the blackfin, unix programming using vi and compiling with gcc, and visual studio series are some of the environments that I've used. I realize that the admins would have setup the header files, so I'd just like to know how to setup sourceboost so that I can use the string functions, thank you.

OK, C2C is set up for really-really small processors. We're talking 390 bytes RAM Maximum, and 8K words of flash rom. They have not implemented all the 'Standard C Library' stuff that you are used to from the big world.

However, there's nothing stopping you from implementing your own string handling. Just be aware that C2C has those limitations.

OK, C2C is set up for really-really small processors.  We're talking 390 bytes RAM Maximum, and 8K words of flash rom.  They have not implemented all the 'Standard C Library' stuff that you are used to from the big world.

However, there's nothing stopping you from implementing your own string handling.  Just be aware that C2C has those limitations.

A want to add that there will be a few string functions included into BoostC compiler system library.

Regards,

Pavel

Kuyars,

You roll your own, but fortunately there is a lot of sample

code out there from C2C's open source heritage, including

some on Picant's page at: