Jump to content

Recommended Posts

I have two questions about BoostC, MPLAB and ICD2.

 

1. FIRST QUESTION.

I am trying to integrate BoostC into MPLAB and I am encountering some troubles. Just as the BoostC manual says, in the installation procedure I declared MPLAB installation directory. I tried with:

 

C:\programmi\microchip

C:\Programmi\Microchip\MPLAB IDE

C:\Programmi\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Core\MTC Suites

 

With all af these directories BosstC gave me this message:

 

Can't locate MPLAB language tool suites directory. BoostC integration into MPLAB failed.

 

Which is the right directory to be used for integration (INTEGRATE button in the installation procedure)?

 

 

 

2. SECOND QUESTION

Once I can integrate BoostC into MPLAB, it is enough to put

#include <icd2.h>

at the very beginning of my code, or what else?

 

Thank you very much.

 

Paolo.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Which is the right directory to be used for integration (INTEGRATE button in the installation procedure)?

 

I've always found this confusing. I currently have the files in the following places:

 

C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Core\MTC Suites

C:\Program Files\Microchip\Third Party\MTC Suites

 

I don't know which one is necessary, but one or both of these seems sufficient.

 

2. SECOND QUESTION

Once I can integrate BoostC into MPLAB, it is enough to put

#include <icd2.h>

at the very beginning of my code, or what else?

 

You do need

#include <system.h>

in every C file.

 

I have an ICD2 but have only used it as a debugger, so I don't know more than that.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you, teejaydub.

I have copied files in

 

C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Core\MTC Suites

 

but not in

 

C:\Program Files\Microchip\Third Party\MTC Suites

I will try

 

You do need

#include <system.h>

in every C file.

I have an ICD2 but have only used it as a debugger, so I don't know more than that.

 

Clear, I did it. Despite MPLAB says it can not generate COFF file and my hex file is empty...! Are there any other tricks?

 

Thank you.

 

Paolo.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Clear, I did it. Despite MPLAB says it can not generate COFF file and my hex file is empty...! Are there any other tricks?

 

If you haven't already, I would try compiling something very simple like:

 

#include <system.h>

void main(void)
{
while (1)
   ;
}

 

And make sure it compiles under the SourceBoost IDE first.

 

Then - where do you get the error message, when MPLAB is running the compiler or linker?

Link to post
Share on other sites
If you haven't already, I would try compiling something very simple like:

 

#include <system.h>

void main(void)
{
while (1)
  ;
}

 

And make sure it compiles under the SourceBoost IDE first.

 

Then - where do you get the error message, when MPLAB is running the compiler or linker?

 

Under SourceBoostIde my source is compiled and linked. The PIC runs when I download the hex in it.

The problem is under MPLAB. I had yet not time to copy the files into C:\Program Files\Microchip\Third Party\MTC Suites folder...

 

Then I will be able to give you more info. I hope tomorrow...

 

Thank you and regards.

 

Paolo.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1 month later...

Here I am again.

I tried a very simple firmware for a PIC16F819. The project is compiled and linked into MPLAB IDE 7.62.

I have no problems when I do not use ICD2 as debugger. When I decide to use it, I

#include <icd2.h>

and put "-rt" option in the linker edit window.

 

The output is the following:

 

Limitations: PIC12,PIC16 max code size:Unlimited, max RAM banks:Unlimited, Non commercial use only

 

 

Test.c

<C:\Programmi\SourceBoost\include\icd2.h> @ 20: MESSAGE: "Including ICD2 declarations (icd2.h)"

<C:\Programmi\SourceBoost\include\icd2.h> @ 276: MESSAGE: "Warning: ICD2 Reserved ROM address range:0x700-0x7FF (use linker -rt option)"

 

success

Executing: "C:\Programmi\SourceBoost\boostlink.pic.exe" "C:\Progetti\Test\Test.obj" -O1 -p "Test" -t 16F819 -rt

BoostLink Optimizing Linker Version 6.81

http://www.sourceboost.com

Copyright© 2004-2007 Pavel Baranov

Copyright© 2004-2007 David Hobday

 

 

Optimisation level:1

Too much code to fit in ROM, overfilled by:300 locations.

Consider reducing reserved memory!

Memory reserved at top of memory:2047 locations.

 

 

failure

BUILD SUCCEEDED: Fri Nov 02 16:12:50 2007

 

What's the problem with my setup? Are there other tricks I do not know?

Thank you for help.

 

Paolo.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't used ICD2 as a debugger myself yet, but...

 

The -rt linker option needs an address after it. Maybe since you haven't specified one, it's using 0, which means that there's no room for any code! Try, e.g., "-rt 0x700".

 

And, it might be necessary to add "-icd2" to the linker command line for this chip.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm stuck at the same position, having just downloaded sourceboost and trying it out for the first time. (haven't gone for a licence yet)

 

Using MPLab 7.60, ICD2, I tried to build a simple half a dozen lines - got the result shown below.

 

##############################################################

 

Single user Lite License (Unregistered) for 0 node(s)

Limitations: PIC12,PIC16 max code size:2048 words, max RAM banks:2, Non commercial use only

 

 

vtrtest.c

<C:\Program Files\SourceBoost\include\icd2.h> @ 20: MESSAGE: "Including ICD2 declarations (icd2.h)"

<C:\Program Files\SourceBoost\include\icd2.h> @ 410: MESSAGE: "Warning: ICD2 Reserved ROM address range:0x1F00-0x1FFF (use linker -rt option)"

 

success

Executing: "C:\Program Files\SourceBoost\boostlink.pic.exe" "C:\picprograms\test\vtrtest.obj" "C:\Program Files\SourceBoost\Lib\libc.pic16.lib" -O1 -p "test" -t 16F877A -rt 0x700

BoostLink Optimizing Linker Version 6.81

http://www.sourceboost.com

Copyright© 2004-2007 Pavel Baranov

Copyright© 2004-2007 David Hobday

 

 

Optimisation level:1

License exceeded by RAM: 13 bytes, ROM: 0 words

You have reached the limit of the Lite License (Unregistered)

PIC12,PIC16 max code size:2048 words, max RAM banks:2, Non commercial use only

You can upgrade your license. Please visit: http://www.sourceboost.com

 

#######################################################

 

-rt gives me a 300 byte exceeded, -rt gives the above 13 byte error. I've tried -icd2 as well without success.

 

Jim

Link to post
Share on other sites

Jim,

I'm stuck at the same position, having just downloaded sourceboost and trying it out for the first time. (haven't gone for a licence yet)

 

Using MPLab 7.60, ICD2, I tried to build a simple half a dozen lines - got the result shown below.

...

Maybe you can post the program so we have an idea of what you are trying to compile.

 

Regards

Dave

Link to post
Share on other sites
Jim,
I'm stuck at the same position, having just downloaded sourceboost and trying it out for the first time. (haven't gone for a licence yet)

 

Using MPLab 7.60, ICD2, I tried to build a simple half a dozen lines - got the result shown below.

...

Maybe you can post the program so we have an idea of what you are trying to compile.

 

Regards

Dave

 

Ok, here it is..

 

#include <system.h>

#include <icd2.h>

 

 

void main()

{

while (1);

}

 

I've upgraded MPLab to 7.62 and tried reinstalling Sourceboost with the same result. If I take out the icd2.h include, then it compiles ok.

 

Jim

Edited by jimmain
Link to post
Share on other sites

I have been using the suggestion got from teejaydub: it works! Thank you!

At the moment, I have not used the -icd2 linker option, but just the -rt 0x700.

In the next few days I will try with -icd2 and also with a PIC18F, and will let you know.

Regards.

 

Paolo.

Link to post
Share on other sites
I have been using the suggestion got from teejaydub: it works! Thank you!

At the moment, I have not used the -icd2 linker option, but just the -rt 0x700.

In the next few days I will try with -icd2 and also with a PIC18F, and will let you know.

Regards.

 

Paolo.

 

I still get "13 bytes exceeded" if I use that option - could it be that the icd2 code exceeds the amount of allowed ram in the unlicensed version?

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...