External Switches And The Picdem2 Plus

I am new to boostc and I am trying to modify the example "BUTTON TEST" under the post "pic Micro Programming In Boostc For Beginners" except using a 18F4520 (from my PICDEM2 Plus) using Port A for my switches and port B for my output LEDs I am just trying to turn on the corresponding LED for the switch that is pressed. the only switch that ever works is the one associated with ra4. I verified that all of the LEDs work with the ra4 switch and I was wondering if there is something wrong with my code? Thanks!

#include <system.h>

#include <string.h>

#include <icd2.h> // only required if using ICD2

#include <stdio.h>

#include <lcd_driver.h> // LCD template code

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// Settings for the GREEN PICDEM 2 Plus Demo Board

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

#define LCD_ARGS 1, /* Interface type: mode 0 = 8bit, 1 = 4bit(low nibble), 2 = 4bit(upper nibble) */ \

0, /* Use busy signal: 1 = use busy, 0 = use time delays */ \

PORTD, TRISD, /* Data port and data port tris register */ \

PORTD, TRISD, /* Control port and control port tris register */ \

4, /* Bit number of control port is connected to RS */ \

5, /* Bit number of control port is connected to RW */ \

6 /* Bit number of control port is connected to Enable */

// Configuration Registers for PIC18F4520

#ifdef _PIC18

#pragma DATA _CONFIG1H, _OSC_INTIO67_1H

#pragma DATA _CONFIG2L, _BOREN_ON_2L & _BORV_3_2L & _PWRT_ON_2L

#pragma DATA _CONFIG2H, _WDT_OFF_2H & _WDTPS_128_2H

#pragma DATA _CONFIG3H, _CCP2MX_PORTC_3H

#pragma DATA _CONFIG4L, _STVREN_ON_4L & _LVP_OFF_4L & _XINST_OFF_4L & _DEBUG_OFF_4L

#pragma DATA _CONFIG5L, _CP0_OFF_5L & _CP1_OFF_5L & _CP2_OFF_5L & _CP3_OFF_5L

#pragma DATA _CONFIG5H, _CPB_OFF_5H & _CPD_OFF_5H

#pragma DATA _CONFIG6L, _WRT0_OFF_6L & _WRT1_OFF_6L & _WRT2_OFF_6L & _WRT3_OFF_6L